My first New York Antiquarian Book Fair

This past Saturday, April 14, was the New York Antiquarian Book Fair. I had never been before, and one of the dealers we work with sent me a free pass. Such a deal! So, I hopped on the train in New Haven to spend the afternoon in New York City.

The Fair is held in the armory on Park Avenue at 67th Street and is attended by dealers from across the United States and Europe, including France, the Netherlands, Italy, Germany and England. They were selling incunabula, illuminated manuscripts, maps, first editions, broadsides, literary and historical manuscript,s and ephemera. Some of the prices were astonishing (to someone like me who does not collect rare books). Needless to say, I did not leave with any packages under my arm.

My real goal was to meet some of “our” dealers, and I was able to meet Ian Brabner, David Lesser and Seth Kellen. I also made some new connections with several map dealers. And I ran into some Connecticut friends, which was a fun surprise. It was a very enjoyable experience and one I hope to repeat in the future.

Leave a Reply

