The World of Tomorrow

I was fifteen years old when I went to the 1964 New York World’s Fair with my parents.  I’d never been to Disneyland and pavilions and fair fulfilled all my fantasies of the ultimate amusement park.  The other day when I came across this postcard of the Travelers Insurance Company pavilion in the collection here at CHS, it brought back a lot of memories.  I don’t remember the Travelers exhibition very well.  Called “The Triumph of Man,” a series of dioramas celebrated man’s greatest achievements through the ages, beginning with the discovery of fire and culminating with the beginnings of space exploration.  Maybe I was getting tired by that point.  I do remember the striking building that housed the exhibition.  Designed by the architectural firm Kahn & Jacobs, its spheroid form evoked Travelers’ red “umbrella of protection,” and appeared to float above the jets of water from one of the fair’s many fountains.  I would spend my summers working for Travelers while I was in college.

1999_9_15

Connecticut played a part in many World’s Fairs, beginning in the nineteenth century.  To find out more, check out Take Me to the Fair: Connecticut Exhibits at the International Expositions.

2 thoughts on “The World of Tomorrow

  1. I was probably about 9 at the NY World’s Fair, but I remember everything so vividly!
    So much of the world of tomorrow has come true! Amazing time! Thanks for the memory!

  2. Pingback: A World’s Fair is More than Just Profits | Tomorrow-Land

Leave a Reply

